Cantonese egg tarts

Having been brought up to have dim sum almost every sunday for brunch when i was young, it is no surprise I have a few favourites. The usual must haves are the har kau (shrimp dumpling with shiny translucent skin), sesame balls and of course the egg tarts.

So at the very minute when a friend called to attend a dinner session at his place, I quickly volunteered to make desserts. “Surprise me!” he said. The decision was quick, egg tarts it is! Flipped through my recipe folder for one of the well praised cantonese tart recipe from Christine’s blog, went to get some missing ingredients and VOILA!

My first batch of egg tarts!! =)

I was surprised at how easy it is to make. A good recipe makes all the difference. So a great thank you to Christine for her amazing recipes and her note to pull open the oven door at the last stage. It was very helpful. It kept the egg custard from puffing up, keeping the flat and smooth surface.

** I reduced the sugar for the custard to 60g instead of the 110g since I did not want them to be too sweet.

Leave a Reply

